Poets logo

Athena Baby

I’m Leaving You

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photo by Dimitris Vetsikas on Pixabay

Athena, baby, I’m leaving you

My Athena, you know I’m leaving you

I’ll leave you in the wintertime

Leave you when the winter’s killing me

Leave you when the winter’s still very cold

...

Babe, babe, babe, Athena

Babe, Athena, I wanna leave you

I’m not joking baby, I have to go

Oh, nαί*, babe, Athena, I’m leaving

I really need to go

I can see her calling me away from you

I can feel her calling me back home

...

Babe, oh, babe, I’m leaving you

Oh, baby, you know, I really have to leave you

Oh, I can see her calling me

I said don’t you hear her calling me away from you, ooooh

...

I know, I know, I know I’m never, never, never, never, never leaving you

...

You, babe

But I have to go away from this stand

I have to quit waiting, nαί

Ooh, Athena, baby, baby, Athena, baby, baby, ooh, don’t you see it

...

Calling me

Oh, Athena, babe, I know, I know

It would have been good to know you really

And I know that one day, baby, I’ll really grow on you, babe

We’ll talk and make love through the night every day

Come even Zeus, every day, ooh

...

My, my, my, Athena, babe

I’m leaving you today

Oh I’ll miss you, baby

...

It could have been really good

I was still happy every single day and night

But now I have to go away, oh, oh, oh

...

Athena, baby, babe

That’s when she’s calling me

I said that’s when she’s calling me back home

* nαί means "yes" in Greek.

Please note that you can sing the song with my words. It seems to work quite well. Thank you for reading and or singing!

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.