Poets logo

At Times I Feel

As though I am a lost traveler.

By ConjuryPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

At times I feel as though I am a lost traveler

Traveling in stillness as I break the moonlit night

Tearing the light away

Pulling in the stars

Bleeding photon wave particles

Breathing orbs of a spherical tendency

All alone together up beyond the sky

Shifting their shine to clearer eyes in cloudless sights

I ponder on what great depth of distance one must partake of

In order to behold the beholders of the vast aether

That look upon me from long ago

Sitting with their past light in my eyes

As though they could see

My history

As their present

While all the while for me

My present is their past

Sending me signals that will outlast

My total time as a drop in the sea of time

With unevenly distributed waves

And shoreless boundaries of movement

Floating along upon my back

Watching the watchers wondering

Whether they see me sighting their spying

In some distant land

I catch the fierce murmur

Of furious fighting

While the angels and demons dance

Above their heads

Skipping ideas across their minds

Like pebbles over water

One angel turns to another

In mid battle to ask,

“How did I end up in prose?”

To which I answer pseudo-solemnly,

“I made you moments ago

With the memory of having lived a long life,

While you have only actually existed a short time.”

“You are an illusion,

But a real illusion

Like me;

Eternally ephemeral,

Temporally transcendent.”

To which the angel replied,

“How can you say such things?

I don’t believe in you!”

Yet unbeknownst to the angel

I was the one responsible for its unbelief

Though I did bestow relief

To the suffering soul

By storing it in an infinitely spaced chamber

Of unequivocally euphoric love

I witnessed the angel bask

In this glorious affection

As every wish and whim

Was fulfilled

Till at last every desire was utterly predictable

Every pleasure self-inflictable

And the angel soon grew bored

With this unbridled showering of privilege

This unrelenting releasing of limitless license

And so wished to purge itself

Through the deepest flames of torment and agony

Loneliness till it went insane

It tested its limits to the utmost

Till at last

Before it gave up the ghost

At the summit of all extremes

One final wish found utterance

Through the vehicle of its voice

One word:

“Surprise”

And all at once

The angel found itself

As a human reading a poem

Feeling like a lost traveler

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Conjury

Poetry, reveries, and streams of consciousness. Musings, revelries, and free dreams of consonance. Metaphysics, philosophy, and magick cognizance. Writing things that make me high and do a dance.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.