Poets logo

At the Bottom of the Garden

A Mike Singleton Challenge

By Lilly CooperPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2023
At the Bottom of the Garden
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

There are fairies at the bottom of the garden,

down where the brambles grow wild and free.

There is a tiny little door in the old oak,

they came skipping out to play with me.

I couldn't believe my eyes and I clapped in delight!

So very many took to dancing

on fluttering wings of all the rainbow colours.

Swirling, Dipping twirling and prancing.

The King and Queen held out their tiny hands to mine,

we spun to join the chaotic caper.

We leapt and frolicked to their beautiful music,

singing and wearing crowns of paper.

When I tired of the hectic fairy dancing pace,

the Princess and I drank nectar sweet,

from the honeysuckle, in dainty bluebell cups,

and on leaf plate, a pollen cake treat.

Too soon the day was done and our party over,

I waved good-bye to my happy friends,

as they tumbled back through their door in the old oak.

As a child does when a fun time ends

I shed a single tear, of which the Queen caught sight.

She kissed my cheek, gave me permission

to always, in future, join their fairy soirees.

Running to the house on a mission,

to share with my mum and dad about my new friends,

I was disappointed to find out,

adults lost their belief in fairies long ago.

Oh, such silly stories! did they shout.

I was sad, to be told to leave such childishness.

They said, You will be called a misfit!

Why does growing up mean I must stop believing?

The next time my friends I go visit,

I will take a camera with me, to show them,

Silly adults are the ones to goof!

If seeing will convince the boring old doubters

I will take photos to give them proof:

There are fairies at the bottom of the garden.

By Phil Hearing on Unsplash

This poem is my attempt at Mike Singleton's challenge to use the image in the link below as inspiration for a poem, micro fiction or similar.

If you aren't already a member of the Vocal Social Society, I would encourage you to do so. It is a wonderful supportive community.

There is a second inspirational source for this poem. The Cottingley Fairies. In 1920, Frances Griffith and Elsie Wright, stunned the world with their photos of fairies, taken in Elsie's garden. The photos were examined by experts of the time and declared to be genuine. Bare in mind, technology was not very advanced at the time. It was not until more than 50 years later, the photos were identified as hoaxes. There have been many articles, stories and even a movie made about the photos.

Below is a link to an article on the Cottingley Fairy photos.

It was not until researching links for references for my inspirations that I discovered the opening of my poem is very similar to another poem by Rose Fyleman, first published in 1917. I have never read or heard the poem, but felt I should still reference it.

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem, I hope you have enjoyed it!

nature poetryvintagefact or fictionchildrens poetryart

About the Creator

Lilly Cooper

A journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.

I may be an amateur Author, but I love what I do!

Subscribe to join me on my journey!

Click the link to connect with other Australian Creators on Vocal Media Creators Australia

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (31)

  • Nolwazi Senzela10 months ago

    I used to love these fantasies and imagination we had as kids... I really enjoyed this, beautiful.

  • Tressa Rose10 months ago

    Now I want to try this!

  • Trista Harrison10 months ago

    Beautiful! It wonderfully captures the fantasy and imagination we have as children compared to the loss of innocence and whimsy as adults entering the 'real world'."

  • VANESSA GOSBEE10 months ago

    I would love ferries to be real, they are so enchanting and mystical. Thank you for your article.

  • Very good article.

  • Laura Lann10 months ago

    This poem captures childhood wonder so well! Congratulations on TS

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Test10 months ago

    This is so beautifully written and brilliant response to the original picture! Congratulations on Top story!

  • Rachel Deeming10 months ago

    I want there to be fairies. I love those little doors that people put at the bottom of trees randomly, especially if you don't know they're there and then you spot them. It's like magic discovered! I also remember the girls who forged the photos and how I wanted so much to believe it was true. Love your poem. Congrats on TS!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Loved this!!!

  • Omggg, your poem was stunning! Also, I enjoyed the backstory to your inspiration. So sad that it was declared a hoax. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • MPO889910 months ago

    wow a big tree i saw ever

  • 陈南翻10 months ago

    good!

  • Great Job and Congratulations on your Top Story🎊📝💯💖‼️‼️

  • Bugsy Watts10 months ago

    Belief and imagination are the best kind of magic. I have a poem like this but I think yours is better!

  • L.C. Schäfer10 months ago

    Well done on your top story 👏 Question: am I the only one who hummed poddington peas? 🤔

  • Poppy 10 months ago

    An utterly gorgeous read!

  • Ruby Red10 months ago

    This is so beautiful to read - i love the little spots of rhyme, it makes it feel like it was being told by a child! <3

  • Tressa Rose10 months ago

    I love this, I am just starting to write more and I love this style. I hope to someday get to this level of beauty in my writing! Great job!

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    Very well done! It was the magnificent Moreton Bay Fig photo that drew me in!

  • Matthew Fromm10 months ago

    excellent take, Mike has spawned some great pieces with this challenge.

  • KJ Aartila10 months ago

    I could feel the fun and the magic, and the silly adults trying to mock you - I mean "help" - ❤️

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Beautiful poem with a legendary resonance, congrats on Top Story! Didn’t know the story about Conan Doyle, interesting!

  • Ian Read10 months ago

    A lovely, sweet fairy story. But as my dad used to say "I have grown older, I have not grown up!" :)

  • Andrew McKenzie10 months ago

    i hav enjoyed the poem the words are particularly wonderfull, hope you can get to read my books in amazon kdp the dragons prophecy a kingdom reborn

Lilly CooperWritten by Lilly Cooper

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.