Poets logo

asthenia: emptied out

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 20 days ago 1 min read

looking through your old things, its hard to explain, the nostalgia I feel, intensely

for something I didn't know, didn't feel

The memories aren't mine

but I feel them so deeply
why did I dream you had passed? Is it because we didn't have a real communication that didn't know what it needed, wanted, felt? My cousin, do I need to stop forgetting to remember you?

I know the weight of my exhausted mind was collapsed

Collecting dots of rain on a window pane

Meshing the paint, mashing your pain

Collection of the worst things,

Is coming back to Saint Louis

Like reducing, diving into the too deep well, reducing into a flat paradise that seems so immense

The most sweetheart memory of such a terrible youth, rich and full of life, full of potato latkes & salt & loss

Love that dreamed of more than it could be

I'm emptied out

Moving forward or back, it feels like hell

I'm emptied out with a full heart

The deepest despair, all the most expensive sort of love, it costs more than I have yet I want it for you,

For everyone and anyone and no one

The loss feels like a overripe gland, full of tension and all the colors of the universe, leaking, smoking like a hot river in the mid-day heat

The sun beating down, pulsing, hating, roasting

I'm
Emptied

Out

heartbreak

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran19 days ago

    "The loss feels like a overripe gland". I especially loved that line so much. Your poem was so intense and poignant!

  • It is tough.

  • Ameer Bibi20 days ago

    Nostalgia is something that is good but at the same time it's bad too But you made it

  • angela hepworth20 days ago

    This was amazing. Down to the form, it completely exemplifies the power of nostalgia, both good and bad. So good.

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.