Poets logo

Sliver on the shade of musical earth

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 23 days ago 1 min read
Sliver on the shade of musical earth
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

I ain't hurting while I slip into the hip beats, so noisy and bustin’, I'm
Bursting like an overripe cherry hidden

So gooey, sticky

such twinkling glimmers of diamond sparkle against the tops of the mid-day summer trees

willows that cry (I may be smiling, but I am in terrible agony)

I am gleaming under the steaming window of wilderness

I am steaming in the mist of the highest, distressing precipice

That moment before you let yourself fall,

By Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Oh that’s it,

You're truly so beautiful

I am restless in agony, the waves

Pull me over like a false equivalency

Flesh that requires to be sunful, sinful, creative with no prestige

I let the first wave drown,

The sun hits the grass like a passionless kiss
You beat me,

The glimmer of water reflects a smart echo from the sweetest blue sky

You beat me,

Eyes purple like the sunset

I was beat,

Glimmers of summer fun with the intoxicating bloom of budding

Beaten rose petals(I re-learned the language of my poor ancestors, so dirty down-trodden and beaten)

Driven to the ghettos, inside of a hot, simple hell

You

Beat

Me.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran22 days ago

    Omggg, that was so heart-rippingly sad. So intense and raw. Loved your poem so much Merly!

  • angela hepworth22 days ago

    So powerful and amazingly written—just awesome work.

  • Andrea Corwin 22 days ago

    Bursting like an overripe cherry hidden and willows cry - lots of deep and rich descriptions!

  • Cathy holmes23 days ago

    Wow. That is quite powerful in its sadness. Well done.

  • Ameer Bibi23 days ago

    Stunning description 👌

Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.