Poets logo

Asphyxiation

For Heather Hubler's 'Unscramble' Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
13
Asphyxiation
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Find myself stuck in a quiet phantasy

Driven by hypoxia, aphonia and anopia

The toxins syphon, as does the apathy

Virtuoso pianist hammers La campanella

Pathos begone, as I lie in my piosity

Syntax fails, satin covers just patella

Hoist me up above the (life)hoax, the noisy

Oaths forgotten in my gradual ataxia

Axis spinning, losing grip on sanity

As asphyxia takes, I leave this my sonata

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is for Heather Hubler's awesome new "Unscramble" challenge.

Also, because it's amazing, and referenced:

If you're interested, here is another few recent additions to my mad, sad bag of poetic tricks:

CONTENT WARNINGsurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak
13

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶3 days ago

    Well done, placing in Heather’s challenge ✅

  • Cathy holmes3 days ago

    Seems I missed this one. Excellent, as always. Congrats.

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    What a plethora of great words! Nicely done!!

  • Sandra Matos3 days ago

    Congratulations on your win! It is deserved. I have just been watching "We Were the Lucky Ones," and I think it is important not to forget how humans can behave. Your words, "Pathos begone, as I lie in my piosity," are so clever and apropos even today.

  • Grz Colm9 days ago

    I can’t read these man they give me a headache hahah! I think I knew three of those words. 😅

  • I’m only just catching up on the challenge entries… this is an amazing poem with impressive unscrambled words too… loved the piano piece!

  • Heather Hubler26 days ago

    Holy shit, this was brilliant and sad and freaky!! Kudos to you, my friend :) The picture, paired with the music, alongside your poetry was quite an emotional, wordsmithy rollercoaster. LOVED IT! fin

  • Breathtaking, to say the very least, Paul.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Whoaaaaa this was mindblowing! Also, when someone chokes you by sitting on your face/neck, it's known as ass-phyxiation. Do what you may with that info 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your poem! 🍩🥐

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Paganini's lively La Campanella and a concentration camp photo as the backdrop for psychological and physical torment! That is quite a disturbing juxtaposition although I assume that was your intent. What 12 letter word generated so many disturbing medical conditions?

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Wonderful performance poem!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    Solid.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Perhaps it's my growing migraine, but I feel really uncomfortable after reading this!

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a month ago

    I don't know the relation to what you parascrambled, but this stands on its own.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.