Poets logo

Asphalt

The road ahead. Send it.

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Asphalt
Photo by Matt Duncan on Unsplash

Hungry, starving, disintegrating stomachs beg

For their fill of burning lies and sweet slander.

Give it to me, give those ugly words to my mouth.

Drip them in from the needlepoint of a syringe

And let me devour the madness of the minds

Frothing and foaming.

Poison me.

/

I am an addict, watching white clouds exit

From bloody lips split from reckless fights.

I squeal with that specific, feral craving

As those angry black clouds parade their misery

Across the open expanse of blue.

Give it to me! Give me the misery and let me

Succumb.

/

The mystic river twining through the black,

Carving lines of flowing stars and spilled milk

Calls the spectres in my mind.

I float. I fly. I dreamt of what it's like to die.

My feet are untethered.

The pale blue creatures lifting like fungi from my scalp

Doom me.

/

To a life hovering six inches above ground.

To look above and feel those pale thoughts yearn

For something they can never touch, have, or keep.

I am chained to the chase.

The lines of the road own my journey and the clean curves

Of black asphalt keep me eternally

Subdued.

/

Silver Serpent Books

/

Thanks for reading! If you liked it, give it a heart and if you really liked it, let me know in the comments :)

nature poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetry

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Carol Dauxabout a year ago

    Love the whole idea of the road. Well explored. Title is genius!

Silver Serpent BooksWritten by Silver Serpent Books

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.