Poets logo

Ashes

idk man idk

By Ashley LimaPublished 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
16
Ashes
Photo by Edward Kucherenko on Unsplash

i used to sign my paintings by ashing a blunt in the corner -

i don't paint anymore.

now i just write until the embers burn too hot.

vengeance, karma, trauma, horror;

eating my soul from the inside out.

ashes to ashes

until i almost fall down

reaching out

grabbing

searching for the spark to

light back up again,

i must.

a neverending dance.

a trapeze through the cosmos;

an exploration of my own imagination;

living inside of myself,

yearning to show the wonders within

to the world.

but it doesn't matter as much

once it leaves my lips;

it's much holier as a secret

to keep, to hold, to burn, to dust, to ash.

surreal poetryperformance poetry
16

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    Brilliant!!!β™₯️β™₯οΈπŸ’•

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Sometimes, darkness can show us the light in a different way. A powerful poem, Ashley!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    This is great. Love these lines in particular "but it doesn't matter as much once it leaves my lips; it's much holier as a secret." Great job.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I'm struggling to find the words to do this justice, but I'm failing. Flailing. I feel this. And I have felt that secret dilemma: better to expose to the wind or keep hidden as embers? How much should it matter? Can't it be both? Fantastic poem. I read it like 5 times.

  • Ian Read8 months ago

    So beautiful and introspective! While I can't relate to the blunt (not my thing but I agree that's wicked bad**s) I can relate to the feeling of fanning the flames until they burn out a story. All in all, amazingly well done! πŸ˜€

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    I know exactly what you mean, frantic and desperately worded, and that's the soul of it. And even when the secret can be framed in the ideal and fitting words, does it even bring release? Incinerating poem, direct contact with the ashes. I love this, but I'm sorry to feed off your pain...I'll return the favor soon enough ;) Hang in there.

  • So powerful and poignant! I'm sure writing this gave you a release. Loved your poem!

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Signing works of art with a blunt is possibly the most METAL thing I've ever heard! Beautiful melancholic feel here Ashley!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I love this! It’s like an even darker Edgar Allen poe! Great work!

  • You had pulled me in from that very first line and held my attention for every one since β€οΈβœ¨πŸ™πŸ‘Œ

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    🀩

  • Heidi McCloskey8 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.