Poets logo

As You Are

Love without expectations.

By Vanessa ButeraPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

This is a poem about opening my heart and allowing the leaves to fall wherever they are meant to. In my darkest hours, I realized that I get overly attached to an outcome and project an ideal onto them. I'm learning that this is not fair for anyone involved because it prevents me from seeing the person properly. Instead of getting caught up in the details of what should be, I am rolling out the red carpet to let existing and potential lovers to come as they are. It is important to practice patience and let things take the time they need to be nurtured. Here is "As You Are".

Your hand melts into mine

Like a second skin

My soul is a still lake

When I am around you

I brought you my fluidity

And you adjusted your sails

The water is murky

But I practice patience

Until there is clarity

You can look at your reflection

Whenever you choose

And I will let you be

As you are

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa Butera

My name is Vanessa Butera. I am a 25-year-old poet/songwriter from Toronto, ON. I graduated from York University with a degree in English. Please join me on this journey as I write about music, literature, arts, and current events.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.