Poets logo

as if it's time i stop

giving it up / [internet high-fives]

By ⸘jason alan‽Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
1
as if it's time i stop
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

as you leave me now, he said, i don't know that i will make it out of this alive without you by my side. why can't you stay?

if it isn't me, then who, i ask, i've weathered my share of pain and grief, so give it all to me. cause that's how the game is played.

it's not fair. i'm gonna fall apart, my love confessed, i don't know if i can sleep in an empty bed. or who to be all by myself.

time will decide when these days are Now, my voice shaking to think of it, but you're right that burden should be my beast to bear.

i stand for you, he chokes, don't make this all go on without you. i can't even imagine the emptiness and what's at stake.

stop, please, i beg for peace, i just want to live while i'm alive, and i want you in it. today is what the gift is - stop giving it away.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentarysad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetrynature poetryMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalhow toheartbreakGratitudeFriendshipFamilyfact or fictionCONTENT WARNINGart
1

About the Creator

⸘jason alan‽

:::WARNING:::

i am only responsible for what i say

:::WARNING:::

not for what you understand

:::WARNING:::

you may learn to be charmed by my [secret‽] discontent

:::WARNING:::

or you may not

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.