Poets logo

As good as it gets.

By Alani Starr

By A'Lani StarrPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
As good as it gets.
Photo by Rui Silvestre on Unsplash

You know the fucked up part about failing?

You start thinking about all of the people who knew you weren’t shit. The realist.

Obviously I’m a fucking dreamer.

I had my head in the clouds with my motherfucking feet up.

But now, I’ve hit the ground. Face down.

It was lonely up there, but here, it’s jumping.

The crowd is lit, and motherfuckers is stomping to the sound of the beat of the drum.

Misery loves company.

They laugh first, then gather around and help you up.

Tell you to get acquainted and stop thinking about that better life stuff.

Get a real job, grow up.

This is as good as it gets.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

A'Lani Starr

I fell in love with poetry at the age of 8. I am now 24. It’s my passion, it flows easily. Hear me when I speak.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.