Poets logo

My Blood Brother

For you, Aaron.

By A'Lani StarrPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
My Blood Brother
Photo by Wayne Lee-Sing on Unsplash

Let me tell you about my brother from my point of view.

He was wise and brave,

it’s not just me who thinks that, you could ask anyone who knew.

He had the heart of lion.

The most Courageous in the room.

Hed have your back like only your mom do.

Family oriented and loving

Hilarious and fun

The life of the party, I swear.

My mom & dads first son.

He was everyones big brother

Even our older siblings.

Just ask him.

And them.

They’ll tell you

He big stepped behind us.

He was big stepper for all his people.

His parents, his lady & his babies, family and friends too.

He accepted you for who you were

Nothing less.

That’s just how he was

he was real solid like that..

Big dawg.

You heard his roar.

He was here for only a second

I wish that we had more.

More time to love you.

More time to laugh.

More time to have our deep talks

Or reminisce about our past

CHIN UP MONEY

Is what he’d say to all of us

He’d tell us that he’s fine

We just gone have to trust

I learned so much from you.

How to love, how to forgive.

You showed me it’s cool to be who you are

Chin up and have a brave heart.

See big brother; you were the best big brother

I wish I knew that from the start

Because siblings are your first enemy

He’d do petty stuff like say he got me something and I’d say what and he’d lift his leg and fart.

Truly a character.

I seen him flick everybody lip..

He flicked mine once. It was the last time too cause I bent his finger so far back I’m surprised it didn’t turn blue.

Once I figured out that he was actually really cool, we honestly had a ball.

We had stupid fights of course

But even then I could still call.

You kept secrets not just mine..

I speak for everyone when I say this

You were one of a kind.

we are blessed to have known you.

Your face and voice is embedded in my brain

Every day I show your kids your picture

And they’ll smile and say your name.

They must not forget.

I won’t let them.

If the roles were switched, you’d do the same for me.

You had our back far too tough in life

& that alone gives me a sense of peace.

I know you still rocking with us tough.

& for that I’ll get some sleep.

We all gained a guardian angel.

I love you after death, brother.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

A'Lani Starr

I fell in love with poetry at the age of 8. I am now 24. It’s my passion, it flows easily. Hear me when I speak.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.