Poets logo

As Death came for me

Poem

By Jazzy Published 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
17
As Death came for me
Photo by Efe Kurnaz on Unsplash

The angel of death came for me

I switched out My body for one

Much like mine

Sadder and wiser

🌘

I'm older than you were

When you met her too

I wondered if you thought to switch

For a body like yours

Happier and wiser

πŸŒ‘

I find the flower of life in my pocket

I knew you left it for me

As the angel of death accepts this flower

I am free

I see you wave

And I know you left your flower for me

Happier and wiser

You went with the angel of death for me

πŸŒ’

Authors note: this was the original poem I wrote that I then transformed into a haiku.

Read it here.

For those who read Bridge Between; these poems are for him. Though I have said goodbye, I feel as if he is cheering for me while traveling the stars and seeing the world from afar.

sad poetry
17

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli7 months ago

    A really beautiful poem, so much more uplifting than the first line would indicate. Love it!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    This is so elegantly written!! I love the foreboding and yet uplifting feel of this piece!! Great work Jazzy!

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Brilliant! This is so... poignant. I love it! The flower is so delicate yet so powerful!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    A Very bittersweet poem. Great work and hopefully cathartic to write... 😊

  • Kenny Penn8 months ago

    Beautiful, sad, and sweet. I really enjoyed this poem, Jazzy. It feels like a bit of a healing poem.

  • Omgggg, I loved the flower so much! It was just so powerful! Such a beautiful poem!

  • Chloe Gilholy8 months ago

    This was beautiful and bittersweet.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Bittersweet!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    What a great love story!

  • Joe Patterson8 months ago

    Beautiful and dark.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.