Poets logo

Ars Poetica

Untitled

By SynecdochePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Ars Poetica
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

*

You are a cancer, he says to me

By he, I mean the fat fortyish fuck with nicotine stained fingers and beer breath who calls himself my friend

I am 13, and my parents’ marriage is a stale broken cookie on the floor

I have very few friends my age and can never quite figure out the rules

I like to perform; am comfortable on a stage

My dad signs me up for classes at what I will come to call “the playhouse” (my stomach still turns at the intersection of 4th and Wilshire)

It is fun for a while and I learn and grow

Then the Christmas party comes

And there is mistletoe and the unwanted, unexpected, inappropriate foreign taste of this man’s coated tongue in my throat

And the probing of those yellowed fingers

And I want to ask for help

But when I look around I see I am not the only prey here

Many of the vulnerable children who have nobody to talk to are in the same boat as me, and other adults are doing it too

He is 30, she, only 15

She is 30, he, only 12

My teacher, you are supposed to show me how to behave onstage and back

I do not wish to learn the texture of your erection through the front of your soiled khakis

or feel of the fragile cushion of my innocent trust ripped from beneath my size 5 sneakers

And where the hell are my mom and dad?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Synecdoche

I’m an artist... retired professional singer and stage actor, a writer, a bead artist, a sculptor, collage-er, I make accessories, am an activist and organizer, amateur chef (key word here is, “amateur,”) and Auntie extraordinaire.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.