Poets logo

Arrival

Villanelle

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
17
Arrival
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Your arrival comes as a surprise,

just as our babymoon was due to start.

I see panic in your mother’s eyes,

her hand on mine a clutching, crushing vise,

her back contorted in a mounded arc.

I stroke the sweat that burns with cruel surprise

and voice a counterpoint as sirens rise

and fall, murmuring with art-

less ease, “She’ll have her mother’s eyes,

my love, she’ll be bold, bright and wise …”

The rolling gurney forces us apart,

and her departure takes me by surprise.

My bruised hand throbs. There were no goodbyes.

I pace, a journey waiting for a start.

I only see your mother’s panicked eyes.

Finally, the door – I hear your cries –

My arms make a cradle by my heart,

where your arrival comes as a surprise.

Alone, I see you have your mother’s eyes.

Familysad poetry
17

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Wow, you captured it all perfectly - fabulous poem!!

  • Kodah4 months ago

    Ohh this was beautiful! 🤍

  • A beautiful poem for a wonderful moment. Though while your rhyming scheme fits the contemporary form of the villanelle, your lines do not. Your first line should also be your 6th, 12th & 18th lines & your third line should also be you 9th, 15th & 19th lines. Still, I love the poem.

  • Test4 months ago

    Awe-inspiring work! Keep up the remarkable effort—congrats! ❤

  • Gorgeous ❤

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Powerful and emotional!!! Wonderfully written!!!

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Beautiful, heartbreaking piece

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Goodness, this is heartbreaking. Really well composed though. Definitely emotive!

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    gorgeous work!!

  • Gosh this was so heartbreaking. Very bittersweet. Loved your poem!

  • Ward Norcutt4 months ago

    I miss the strict adherence to meter and rhyme in these poems (part of the adventure and athletic journey of their creation) Even so, you create a very tender poem, Sonia. Your imagery, as usual, is evocative and full with meaning.

  • PK Colleran4 months ago

    Very nice. 🦋

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I love this, both visceral and emotive.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.