Poets logo

Army Life

A Old Soldier Never Dies He Just Fades Away

By Knightros Published 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Army Life
Photo by Suzy Brooks on Unsplash

As a soldier, I marched to war

With my gun, my kit, my pride

But as the battles raged on

My heart began to subside

I saw the horrors of the fight

The loss, the pain, the grief

My comrades fell one by one

As we struggled for relief

I fought hard, and I fought well

But the conflict took its toll

And when I finally came back home

I felt empty, alone, and cold

People said they understood

But how could they ever know

The darkness that I carried

And the pain that wouldn't go

Now I sit here all alone

In this old and creaky chair

Thinking of the things I've seen

And all the burdens that I bear

They say that old soldiers fade away

That they slip into the night

And though I'm still alive it seems

I've lost what once made me feel right

So here I am, a broken man

Longing for release

Hoping that one day I'll find

Some semblance of peace.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Knightros

Start Hello and welcome to my page! My name is Knightros and I am a passionate writer and content creator. I am thrilled to share my knowledge and insights with all of you and I truly believe that my content can benefit anyone who reads it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.