Poets logo

Aquarelle Love

How I learned to paint my true colours outside of the lines. #bisexualpride

By Eleni LevreaultPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Aquarelle Love
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

From fire and ice, behold

An existence led between extremes.

Too many times I’ve been told

To live within inflexible seams.

Red and cyan, on my skin;

Each stroke a chapter sparing no limb.

My soul tried to match within

Each mournful cry of that solemn hymn.

Soon, I was forced to admit

My dreams were pure amethyst and gold.

No longer would I submit;

From beyond your stark lines, I’d unfold.

Watercolour lips, behold

The melting of cyan, red with gold.

Naked before you, so bold

Yet shivering from a gaze so cold.

I know the fire is lost

As I unfurl my amethyst wings.

Beautiful, but at what cost?

The malignant voice in my head sings.

Your backs turn, I see your scars;

I shroud mine in ink and sweet flowers.

Will they remain our only memoirs,

Vestiges of love once ours?

For now, my hair remains mauve,

And my eyes are flecked with green and gold.

On the ledge from which I dove,

Freed at last from that wretched blindfold.

Watercolour lips, indeed!

I send a lilac kiss towards you.

I’ll follow where it may lead

Until we can find our love anew.

--E. Levreault

love poems
1

About the Creator

Eleni Levreault

Full-time baby doc | Part-time writer | Full-time dreamer |

https://www.instagram.com/echolima__/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.