Poets logo

April Showers

A prompt from my work-in-progress Writing Prompts Leap Year Collection. Write about the sound of rain without using the word "drop".

By Ashley LimaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
photo by juliette sandbox on flickr

I like to keep the windows open when it rains;

The drizzle, somehow, always knows the right words to say.

I often need their sound advice more than I need prayer,

And they always stop to listen, even if I'm just a stranger.

They're so kind to feed the flowers; they keep the river roaring strong.

Sometimes they even sing to me; their gentle, loving songs.

When I close my eyes to fall asleep, I know not all is lost,

For the whispers of the rainfall promise me I'm not alone.

I like to listen to the pitter-patter-pitter on my roof,

I even enjoy the moments when the orchestra goes BOOM!

My father always told me: thunder is just God bowling,

And even as a non-believer, I savor every moment.

nature poetry
6

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic11 months ago

    Dads so often give advice or thoughts we don’t believe in, yet they still bring comfort

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    Flows in a gentle pitter patter, just perfect 😁

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Beautiful thoughts

  • Bugsy Wattsabout a year ago

    this flows like a lullaby :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.