Poets logo

APRIL, NATIONAL POETRY MONTH

National Poetry Month

By LaShunta HPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

April is National Poetry Month. During the month of April I will share some of my favorite poems with you.

First here is a little background about National Poetry Month:

Inspired by the successful celebrations of Black History Month (February) and Women’s History Month (March), the Academy of American Poets established National Poetry Month in 1996. The academy enlisted a variety of government agencies and officials, educational leaders, publishers, sponsors, poets, and arts organizations to help. April was selected because emed the best time within the year to turn attention toward the art of poetry—in an ultimate effort to encourage poetry readership year-round.

The Academy of American Poets states the purpose of National Poetry Month is to:

  • highlight the extraordinary legacy and ongoing achievement of American poets
  • encourage the reading of poems
  • assist teachers in bringing poetry into their classrooms
  • increase the attention paid to poetry by national and local media
  • encourage increased publication and distribution of poetry books, and
  • encourage support for poets and poetry.

Langston Hughes is a poet that makes my heart smile. I am so grateful that Mr. Hughes shared his words with us. Here are a few poems of his that I love:

Mother to Son

Well, son, I’ll tell you:

Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.

It’s had tacks in it,

And splinters,

And boards torn up,

And places with no carpet on the floor—

Bare.

But all the time

I’se been a-climbin’ on,

And reachin’ landin’s,

And turnin’ corners,

And sometimes goin’ in the dark

Where there ain’t been no light.

So boy, don’t you turn back.

Don’t you set down on the steps

’Cause you finds it’s kinder hard.

Don’t you fall now—

For I’se still goin’, honey,

I’se still climbin’,

And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair.

This poem is one I think all parents can relate to. Life gets tough for our kids at times but we need to encourage them to keep on working on those things that may be challenging. Yes it is tough to see our kids struggle. Being realistic and encouraging is needed to help them get through those tough times.

Dreams

Hold fast to dreams

For if dreams die

Life is a broken-winged bird

That cannot fly.

Hold fast to dreams

For when dreams go

Life is a barren field

Frozen with snow.

It is always important to keep dreaming. I think too often especially as we get older we tend to forget to keep on dreaming and working on making some of those dreams a reality. Please keep dreaming and no matter how wild, goofy or out of reach you think your dream may be keep working at it.

My Loves

I love to see the big white moon,

A-shining in the sky;

I love to see the little stars,

When the shadow clouds go by.

I love the rain drops falling

On my roof-top in the night;

I love the soft wind’s sighing,

Before the dawn’s gray light.

I love the deepness of the blue,

In my Lord’s heaven above;

But better than all these things I think,

I love my lady love.

Who doesn’t like a poem about love. Poems about love remind us that love is not a one size fits all. We all tend to describe our love in different ways. Love is beautiful.

Reading poetry is like reading lyrics to a song you love and just vibing out. I hope you enjoyed these Langstong Hughes poems. The collection of works Mr. Hughes has is beautiful if you have time to do so please check out some of his works. Do you have a favorite poem or poet?

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

LaShunta H

I love to write

I love people and diversity

I love sports- GO LAKERS (and yes I was a fan pre Lebron)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.