Poets logo

April 6, 2017

Poem 9 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

Although our relationship has ended

And feelings still resonate within

Me I have to let go somehow.

{

This is nothing new for me.

But none the less it is never easy.

{

Call it knowing what I need to

Make-up for.

If I wasn’t so damned focused on

My work and past experience I’m

Almost sure we would have made it

Further.

If I had actually bought you flowers

And more gifts from time to time it

Would have helped with showing how

Much I care and appreciate the time

You had given me.

If I knew how to go out more,

Better memories would be in our

Pockets.

If we took more showers together it

Might have added a few extra days.

If I wasn’t such a stubborn asshole

Who doesn’t change to save his life

I’m nearly positive to say our lives

Would still be as a pair instead of

Single cards in a deck of suits

And numbers.

{

Instead of you coming over and

Falling asleep in the room tonight

You are elsewhere.

While I sit in the spot looking for

An exit, a proper goodbye.

{

I’ll end this with an invisible kiss.

A silent goodnight.

One more farewell poem

}

Filter to Simple

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Archery Owlabout a month ago

    You did a great job capturing heartbreak and those feelings when love ends

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.