Poets logo

Apricity

A Haiku

By Allie BickertonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
46

Apricity thaws

The firm, frosty, forest floor

Unfurling slowly

___________________________

Credits:

The photograph I used as the cover image is by Kurt Bouda. I found it on Pixabay and downloaded it for free.

Thank you for reading. Have a lovely day. 🌿

nature poetry
46

About the Creator

Allie Bickerton

She / Her - Canada

I spent most of my life immersed in visual arts and I neglected my literacy.

Nurturing harboured emotions and poetic thoughts I’ve stashed within.

Thank you for being here! 💕

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Gosh, this was just so beautiful! I loved it so much!

  • Misha Kellyabout a year ago

    I could read this over and over! I learned something new, was mesmerized by the photo and was captivated. What more could I ask for?!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    9 words, alliteration, so eloquent and pretty. Well done. It deserved Top Story, for sure!

  • Samara Simsonabout a year ago

    Nice.

  • Rayn Babout a year ago

    Stunning work!

  • Ah yes I saw this, and will leave a comment as at least a return for reading my story. I do like this and you have a new subscription

  • Joel Lippertabout a year ago

    Thank you for making me get my dictionary out, and now adding to MY lexicon.

  • Joel Lippertabout a year ago

    I would contend that your life in the visual arts has informed and shaped your literacy in ways you have yet to discover. And it's a beautiful thing, discovering, uncovering layers and connections. 155 degree tangents are educational.

  • Chua Yuan Hengabout a year ago

    Deep insightful poem.

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Beautiful!

  • Farouk Abdullah Ibrahimabout a year ago

    أنا اعيش مهدوم المشاعر في مكان ما ليس فيه رحمه من بشر الناس قست قلوبها

  • Wow 🤩 nicely written 🥰👍

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    Well, you got a new sub here... ;)

  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    Love this! Beautiful work. 💚☀️

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Oooh this depicts such a beautiful image! Love this haiku

  • Jessabout a year ago

    Beautiful haiku! The idea of the grass and moss on the forest floor unfurling and revealing itself out of the ice creates such a visual feast from so few words.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Apricity Is my favorite feeling; I love winter and the sort of experience. Very well done here!

  • Bex Jordanabout a year ago

    Thank you for teaching me a new word! I love the alliteration on the second line (I am such a sucker for some sweet alliteration). Beautiful flow ☺️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.