Poets logo

Apologise

Sorry

By Ruth StewartPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
10
Apologise
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

Sorry

We interrupt this broadcast

With the news:

I hate saying sorry.

Even if I am truly sorry

It’s horrible saying it.

It makes me feel vulnerable.

I did something wrong.

I shouted at my Mum.

She did something wrong, but I should have stayed calm.

I should have stayed calm and not shouted.

I should have spoken nicely.

She is my Mum, and she deserves respect.

So now, I have to say sorry.

Which I hate.

Not because it’s not true, but because I must eat humble pie. Yuck.

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Oh man, the humble pie! It's something we all have to eat sometimes ❤️ This was so relatable and so well expressed! ❤️

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    The push and pull of the human condition! So well shown in your poem, Ruth 💕🙂

  • I apologise even when I'm not wrong 😅 It's something that comes so naturally to me. I have no idea why I'm wired like this, lol! I hope your mom forgives you soon.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I used to feel the same. It’s almost like you have to give up apart of yourself In Order to say it. “Im sorry for stepping on you foot but im not sorry for eating the last donut” lol.

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    I'm sorry, but I really enjoyed this. Paul's comment added some fun context, too.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Ah, relatable! Plus I have insider knowledge of your mum and know how it can be to deal with her and say sorry to her! This is a great poem. Loved it the first time you read it to me/showed to me. The last line does make me chuckle a little because although it's something we should do, it's not always easy to eat that humble pie - if only it tasted of apples and caramel, eh?🤣

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Sorry can be a difficult word to speak, especially when you truly mean it , but sometimes necessary. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.