Poets logo

Aphrodite & Hephaestus

An Inverse Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
An AI Generated Image

Love and beauty sweeten mortal being

And spice and ornament the lives of gods;

Without me, queen of both, brightly beaming

All chances at happiness face long odds

You complain that I stray from your embrace

But soot and fire compromise my charms;

Your forge can make an armored carapace

But foul and stinking are your sweaty arms

Consider how we divide means from ends:

‘Tis true, my way of making is not fair

But my will strongest iron quickly bends

My swords cause fearsome monsters to despair

Love and beauty both exhibit frailty

What I create has more utility

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Randy Baker4 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I always thought they were an odd pairing. Great inverse.

  • Whoaaaa, this worked so well both ways!! To me, even a sonnet is so difficult to write but to went a step further and made it make sense in reverse as well! You're freaking brilliant!

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.