Poets logo

Anytime soon…

An ode to my least favourite time of year in the Southern Hemisphere

By Gillian Lesley ScottPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Heremy Bezanger Unsplash

I wonder if the Antipodean summer

I admit cringe from

Will be here anytime soon?

The radioactive, relentless blast of skin scorching

So beloved by those hardy souls

With lifelong residence and olive skin

Is a bit late this year

Last weeks one day bloom of searing glare

And a lost aircon remote

Has finished me off already

So you can be sure

I’m taking the reprieve

With gratitude

As I imagine I’m not going to want to leave

A blackened cave or it’s equivalent

At least my spot next to the fan

Before March next year

Who is with me?

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Gillian Lesley Scott

Scots born Australian. Tales of being human. Despite aiming for the highest good of all, not always successful

https://www.instagram.com//gillesleyscott//

https://www.facebook.com/gillian.l.scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.