Poets logo

Anxiety's Grasp

The stress of social gatherings

By Laura LannPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
Anxiety's Grasp
Photo by Photoholgic on Unsplash

It webs and crawls up my throat like a knife,

It claims my voice and invades my life,

It fidgets and festers, blisters and peels,

There is little to say, but it's all I feel.

A twisted stomach and bile throat

Sours every meal with their bloat.

I'm trying my best to be calm and smile

While inside I turn bruised and vile

As spiders clutter my brain with fear

Future threats loom close and near.

I grab a mask that I may proffer

Instead of showing my hearts offer

Of tears and sobs, words made curt

And shield me from things that hurt.

I'm shaking, I'm shutting down

And in my face forms a frown

But quickly it slips so as to not be seen

Far to secrecy of how I feel, I'm keen.

The tears I can't fight boil to the surface,

So I leave, I run, far from this place.

Sing to myself and find something sharp,

Press it to me skin, scratch like a harp.

Red welts, lines I make and wear

Gives me control, as the layers tear.

The spider settles, happy with red

Back to the house I must tread

Back to the rooms to where you drink

And I linger in the door, on the brink,

But I'll go through,

Straight back to you.

And the vomit returns so food loses taste

And everything made slowly turns to waste.

sad poetrysocial commentaryHoliday
2

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so extremely relatable because I have severe social anxiety.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Excellent descriptions of anxiety and feelings that can't be controlled!!! Wonderfully written!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Tim Harisson5 months ago

    Anxiety's Grasp" encapsulates the profound struggle many face in the clutches of this complex emotion. The phrase evokes a powerful and relatable sentiment, capturing the nuanced experience of grappling with anxiety. It's essential to acknowledge and support those navigating through this challenging terrain, fostering empathy and understanding. By shedding light on "Anxiety's Grasp," we contribute to a dialogue that promotes mental health awareness, compassion, and resilience. Let's stand together, dispelling the stigma surrounding anxiety, and fostering a community where open conversations lead to healing and support. <a href="https://www.howdensaggers.com/areas-of-practice/traffic-offences/">drink driving lawyers gold coast</a>

  • Salman siddique5 months ago

    liked it something is missing

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.