Poets logo

anti-comfort.

comfortable in pain. findin’ comfort where others don’t expect to find it

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Photo by the Author

I left comfort outside the door

and all I’ve got

there are pains all over my body

I take pleasure in sufferin’

*

from head to toe

head and shoulders above

all the inhabitants of the earth

as I am

*

on the other side of their story

where they cannot imagine

existence of life

there is where I reside

*

they scream with their stentorian voices

crackin’ on the wall

of my bedroom

where I sleep durin’ the day

*

tryin’ to overcome

huge headache and all kinds

of disappointments in other people

and in me

*

when I tried to balance that thin line

between life and death

livin’ and learnin’

livin’ and lettin’ live

*

others never understood

they tried to force their point of view

to the limit

threatenin’ humanity

*

and that's all I have left now

tryin’ to figure it out

things that were never meant to happen

and yet they boggle the mind

*

‘these things are sent to try us’

I keep thinkin’ that

gettin’ over it in my mind

every day I try to put things right

*

but on my own it looks preposterous

dwellin’ on the past

when one side refuses to tell the whole truth

we are dealin’ only with fragments

*

of distorted reality

augmented somehow by this

acts of guessin’ the truth

as if the truth had the power to kill

*

so, every day I embark on an exhaustin’ journey

slottin’ the puzzle of each case

to the predestined place

that the producer of this confusion had in mind

*

in this delicate moment of its creation

and my mere imitation

of this procedure

ruinin’ me and revealin’ things

*

I could never imagine until

someone with their ominous and omnipresent plan

decided to lay their hands

on the comfort of my life

*

dependin’ on my ability to solve

equation appearin’ before my eyes

where, outwardly, there are no clues for doin’ that

in the eyes of the root cause

*

September 2022

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

inspirationalsad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.