Poets logo

Anger and Going Home - rendition

Original piece 2022, rendition 2024

By Olivia DodgePublished 24 days ago 1 min read
3

May 20 2024 10:41pm

I am inside the freezer. A home to babies and corpses and a napkin I used months ago. I’m uncomfortable. I’m upset because the bends of my knees feel like some sort of desperate amalgamation of part and tide. Separation doesn’t cure heat sensitivity and a street lamp won’t stress injustice, but they say he knows what he’s doing. He only looks between the rods when our teeth turn brown, so we assemble lasting links and pretend our bodies can survive off of one another. All of this to say, my hunger cannot be given to you, my mother cannot nurse you to sleep, and ziplock bags cannot keep these temperatures livable. You have to find a hand to hold and scrape the plaque off your teeth with the tongue that God gave you.

— ODH

slam poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetry
3

About the Creator

Olivia Dodge

22 | Chicago

ig: l1vyzzzz & lntlmate

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Silver Serpent Books24 days ago

    This was a wild read. I love how intense this was and how it dripped with anger. Such visceral images. Wonderful piece of work!

  • Oh wow, this was very intense. I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.