Poets logo

Angel

Poems from Journal Titled, Black and Blue (2018 - 2019)

By Alyssa "Lefty" P.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A bruise always changes colors before it heals.

"Angel"

Poem derived from my first completed journal, Black and Blue (2018-2019). Written May 28th 2018. Dedicated to the late Matthew McCree. Rest in Power. We love you.

~~~~~~~

I never spoke to an angel

directly before.

Only mama tells me when the original Rosa smiles and

laughs with her -

or when my soulmate's soulmate

Jose Antonio visits him and assures me

"Todo va a ser bien,"

But my conversation with you

was almost haunting.

I still can't understand why

you visited me

of all people and why

I told you to be with me tonight.

Maybe it was a "thank you"

To which I never needed from Louna,

for loving her, you and your family

as if they were my own.

But I'm blessed

that you, angel, came to visit my spirit.

I thank YOU

for watching over me tonight,

the way I watched over you

when I walked you home

from the baseball field that one sunny Spring day.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa "Lefty" P.

28 year-old NuYoRican from Spanish Harlem who has a passion for writing, learning, achieving peace, faith, and empowering others. I've established a career as an educator and career counselor for over five years. Instagram: @alyssaleftyp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.