Poets logo

And Then I Remember

Always Love Yourself

By Samirra ElsaiehPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
And Then I Remember
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Soft petals gently flutter down from the flower tree

Swaying and gliding on the fresh spring breeze

And then I remember...

My mind is spinning from the drama I've just seen

Wondering if all of it was just a crazy dream

And then I remember...

I came outside to get away, just to get away

Trying to figure if I should run or just stay

And then I remember....

I can't just leave, that would be abandonment

I have to protect them, and wait for help to be sent

And then I remember.....

There are others like me, who want to be themselves and be free

That's something people won't see, neither will they agree

And then I remember......

No one knows what I'm going through

Or maybe they believe its not true

And then I remember.....

I close my eyes to focus on another place

I am who I am with pride dignity and grace

And then I remember.....

So many can't accept me for who I am inside

Causing me to hold back who I am and hide

And then I remember......

The arguments, the pain, the suffering and more

keeps me wondering what the hell I'm fighting for

And then I remember........

I am me, and that no one can change

I am me, no matter how normal or strange

And then I remember............................................................

I LOVE ME!

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Samirra Elsaieh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.