Poets logo

And a Wish For Today

The Poignant Poppies

By Tracie SperlingPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3

The Poignant Poppies are all but scattered around.With glittered eyes, I'll paint my hopes on the ground.So the slow downward sunset gleams. And the only weapon that counts is to hear from the ground. These sad realities haunt me when I am on my knees. Will I ever find peace of mind and pretend that I am free. The least I can do is to believe in myself and know I will get through. I tried to be strong but, my strength was taken away. I’ll chase my dreams leaving footprints behind. Only a few sweet memories to remind me that I am not alone. In a land of peace only the strongest of seas. Through the storm, I will hold onto hope as my guiding star.

I will always be with you. I’ll chase these dreams forever. I will keep you in my heart. All these years, I never knew how much I loved you. I need to know if I can give myself a brand new start. But I cant ignore the fact that I am alone in this desert of memories.So I pray that all that's in my heart will keep me from falling apart. Tears running down my face I paint my canvas. You did your best to make this world a better place. If only I could turn back time. I hide behind these walls because I don’t know where to start. I feel like my life is ending and I am hoping for a change. And I must traverse the world I can watch the world growing up in this place. I can see the point of no return. As my vision gets blurred, I am floating over every word but I am so far away I am hoping to be heard.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so beautifully written! Very profound!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.