Poets logo

I Was So Easy To Love

The Unheard Musings of a Wounded Child

By Tracie SperlingPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
1

The unheard musings of a wounded child. There are scattered pieces of my heart, I can’t deny the pain. I try to hide the hurt, but it's etched in every vein. I wear a smile but, inside I ache. I am broken. I am drowning in despair because I can’t be repaired. I wear my emotions on my sleeve like rain.

There is no redemption and no more tears to waste. The clock is ticking on the wall more lonely days pass me by. The days are numbered but, the scars have found their way unanswered. I chase the memories but, they turn to bitter taste. And in the hopes I once remembered the moments that we shared. As I drown, I find solace in memories revived. If only I can turn back time. I long for a time when I will be able to live my life. I can’t keep track of the days we crash on these prison waves. My angel has vanished into thin air. I feel like no one is there. No one remembers my prayers. In this empty space, loves presence is unshared. I walk alone in a world where love is impaired. My heart lies broken and unprepared. All the waiting for promises that didn’t have to be shattered.

There’s a cold wind blowing in the back of my mind. In the depths of despair, I'll rise and show I'm repaired. In my reflection, I see a soul left behind as I watch the world as itself disappeared. I will show you what it is like to be invincible because I am not scared. I will find a way out of this maze however, I won’t escape my past. I can’t remember the last time I felt so alive. I will not be forgotten because I am the enemy of everything that I intended to be for I am the devil I am the cure. I will find an excuse to believe in all the things I once did. In this mess of emotions, I am fighting to survive. Forever haunted by my dreamless night. This is not my home and I dont want to be betrayed. I will not conform to this system of abuse because I am stronger then I am. Perhaps one day I will find a way through all the times I tried.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This hit me so hard because it was extremely relatable. So poignant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.