Poets logo

Ancient Foe

Dark Dreams

By Emily WatsonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Ancient Foe
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Oh darkened fiend, immortal foe,

Of ancient cities long ago,

From golden gates I saw you thrown,

Upon the lands of fire and stone.

In twilight dreams you now appear,

Where worldly lines have disappeared,

And lands unknown, both new and old,

Are opened wide to restless souls.

I’ve seen you on the verdant mountain,

Above the grand and wondrous fountain,

By hidden garden, ancient lore,

Where life had sparked and hope was stored.

I’ve seen you in the olden field,

In battles amid good and ill,

Where lighted turrets boldly stand,

Against the dark, primeval land.

I’ve seen you in the distant night,

When tales of terror turn me white,

Where shadows dance upon the walls,

And conjure fears, unknown to all.

I’ve seen you in the eyes of men,

Where primal evil stirs within,

When deeds unholy blacken souls,

And raze the spirit, pure and whole.

I’ve seen you in the days of war,

An unseen general in the fore,

Inciting purest of all hate,

To forge and mold unholy fates.

And yet your rival I have seen,

In deepest sleep and purest dream,

Where fear is but a distant sight,

When bathed in warmth and unseen light.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Emily Watson

Thank you for reading my stories! I'm an aspiring YA fiction novelist. To learn more about me, check out my memoir, "On the Edge of Insanity," about my struggles with OCD and Bipolar Disorder, on Amazon and B&N. Always believe in magic!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.