Poets logo

Anchored in a Hostile World

Defenseless

By Katie Published 12 months ago 1 min read
1
Anchored in a Hostile World
Photo by David Boca on Unsplash

This struggle that rules me so, I give myself to it freely.

It is what I desire, it is what I truly want.

Yet.......I find,

I seem to lack the strength for it.

Too late I have found my voice, too late I have realized what always stood before me.

What cruelty this life offers, what burdens thrust apon me, to simply live as I want.

What heartaches lie for me down this road I travel?

All these doubts, swirling within me.

What must I do to cut this chain? It’s weight, that threatens to pull me under, is a daily burden, anchored as I am in today’s society.

Those that would destroy me are pushing ever harder for my destruction.

Simply for being different.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.