Poets logo

An Unsent Letter

A poem I wrote today in a workshop.

By Chloe GilholyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
An Unsent Letter
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Dear Coward,

I sometimes wish I broke up with you gently

Then I remembered;

The black eyes from “play-fighting”;

The broken condoms and plates;

Toys stolen from an uncle’s basement;

Few gifts I received were stolen;

Your way or the high way.

The constant cheating accusations whilst you tickled my best friend’s knees as well as your sister-in-law.

I’m glad I no longer smell your unbathed clothes and dirty skin.

Your military pose is all an act.

The reason you pick fights with women and children is because

You lack the strength, courage, and testosterone to enter the boxing ring.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.