Poets logo

An Unexpected Surprise from Nature

Ugh. Slug.

By Rachel DeemingPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 2 min read
11
An Unexpected Surprise from Nature
Photo by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

Please excuse the picture but it is apt for the poem as Nature decided to play a prank on me last night and so, I thought I'd write about it. I have used limericks as I like their rhythm and they lend themselves to being read out aloud as well as being the most humorous of verse, in my opinion.

I read this to my kids and my mum - Mum laughed, kids tolerated it.

Let me know if you like it. Or if you don't.

*****

I really love Nature, I do,

The wonders it shows off to you

From flowers to creatures

With fabulous features;

Unrivalled delight it imbues.

***

Its surprises I like a lot less:

The ones that invoke massive stress

Like a wasp in the house

Or the rotten dead mouse

Or the leaves that hide sticky cat mess.

***

But Nature's a mischievous sprite

And brings her best tricks out at night

When you're feeling a yawn,

Or a little careworn

And don't bother to turn on the light.

***

And last night she hit with a joke

A brilliant comedic stroke!

An innocent foot

Into slipper was put -

Something squishy is given a poke.

***

Nature's gangster, the ultimate thug -

A juicy and slimy grey slug

Had crawled into the space

Where my foot had been placed

And was waiting there, silent and snug.

***

The contact of this on my toe

Made me queasy, I'd like you to know.

Its coldness and slime

Was hardly sublime,

The experience one to forgo.

***

The slug was surprised just like me,

Balled up to avoid being seen.

But it left it too late;

It was made to vacate

In a motion remarkably clean.

***

The slug was dispatched very fast.

I sincerely hope it's the last

Of encounters like this -

It's not something I'll miss

And must firmly be placed in the past.

***

I know slugs are nothing to fear

But the message's abundantly clear -

Always check where you put

Your bare exposed foot

To save toes from the slug's slimy smear.

***

Never leave a slipper unchecked.

humorperformance poetrynature poetry
11

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    This once happened to me with a centipede! Your poem is awesome!

  • Also a big fan of this style, never fails to make me smile! A little joke, or jibe or poke, is much needed once in a while!! Hehe. I especially loved your line “nature’s a mischievous sprite “ 😍 I would soooo never have come up with that - which is exactly why I love it!!! 👌❤️🙏

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I knew where this was going from the picture, because I too have suffered this trauma. In my case, the slug didn't make it.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Bahahaha. That was just fantastic. 👏👏

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    🤣This is adorably funny.and icky. ❤

  • Sian N. Clutton10 months ago

    Please tell me you have a book of poems that can be purchased?! You have such a way with words. I am so chuffed that I have come across your work!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Rachel, I found your poem delightfully cute (despite the subject. lol). I could see it turned into a project for a children's book.

  • Ewwww! Omggggg! I would have died! My soul would have left my body the moment my toes came in contact with the slug! Lol! I absolutely loved your limericks!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Uh that was slimy ! 😄 “The experience one to forgo!” Haha 😆 I liked this cool use of the limerick. I’ve not really written many, but yours are short, sharp and slimy. Excellent job Rachel! 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.