Poets logo

An Old Drawer

What hides inside this drawer?

By Shivani ParekhPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
An Old Drawer
Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

Fired from the job,

My life, a thunderstorm,

I had lost myself.

~~~~~

Took the country plane,

Caught the fastest train,

That brought me to my village.

~~~~~

The old, rusty house,

Oh! My childhood's spouse,

Looking dark under the rain clouds.

~~~~~

All the rustic feelings,

I was somehow healing,

Swimming in nostalgia.

~~~~~

And sitting in the corner,

Was an old musty drawer,

Worn weak through the years.

~~~~~

The love letters and roses,

Photos with funny poses,

All yellowed by waiting for me.

~~~~~

As I flipped through the pages,

I broke open my cages,

And realized who I am.

~~~~~

Twenty years later,

Sipping tea with my daughter,

Telling how I found myself,

Inside an old drawer.

~~~~~

Context- A successful women is talking to her daughter about her hardships and how an old drawer in her childhood home helped her realize her worth and gave her hope to start her own company after being fired from her job.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Shivani Parekh

Just an introverted girl who gave up speaking her mind as she felt that no one listened. But her self-expression found its way through written words, scribbled sketches and painted worlds.

Welcome to my mind!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    This was absolutely inspiring and beautiful. So sell written. Just keep writing, everything really gets better with time. Glad you made it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.