Poets logo

An Existential Fish and The Meaning of This

For the aquarium challenge

By Caroline JanePublished about a year ago 4 min read
15
An Existential Fish and The Meaning of This
Photo by topcools tee on Unsplash

This.

This cannot be all there is for me.

This finite space.

This space that holds me.

This space where I rise and fall and glide and swirl... and swirl and glide and fall and rise.

Until I can't.

Because it ends.

Abruptly.

Effectively.

Sealing the Beyond away from This.

Away from me.

This space in which I swirl and glide and rise and fall cannot transcend past its end, and I cannot transcend past This.

This cannot be all there is for me.

I see the dark and linear tunnel of Beyond with its one-dimensional horizontal flow taking beings and moving them into the light at the end.

I want to go toward the light.

I watch as it blinks. On and off. On and off. Swallowing the beings in the Beyond. Never to return. Leaving me here, alone, in This.

Why can't I go with them?

Why am I in This and not Beyond?

Is it that This wants me, or is it that Beyond does not?

Is there something about me?

Who am I to This? What am I not to the Beyond?

I grow dizzy, searching for the answers. Round and round I go, inspecting every last speck of This. The green waving weeds are mute, the bright red coral is ignorant, and the ruins of the ship-wrecked boat hold no secrets to share. Even inside the ever-bobbing treasure chest, there is nothing.

Nothing.

All clueless.

Unquestioning of This.

The only scent of a clue lies at the edge. At the threshold between This and Beyond. There is a magic here that tastes of possibility. It tantalises me. I rush at the edge, again and again, and again. I try to imbibe it. I may be a fool, but I am a fool who feels, and I feel the answers are here. So near.

It hurts.

Sometimes the magic at the edge shows me myself. When the light at the end of Beyond shines just so, I catch myself, in glances, looking back at This. At me.

I stare right at myself, into myself, through myself.

It is all I know of what I am.

I spend a lot of time staring into the Beyond, hoping to catch glimpses of myself looking back.

To understand.

There has to be more for me than This.

I know I am grey and small, with silvery spots, a fin at one end, and googly eyes at the other.

That is what I see.

Is that all I am?

I sense the answer to that question is the key to This.

It is such a ridiculous question!

Who am I?

The answer should be simple.

I am me.

But it is not.

It cannot be.

I am more, so much more, than what I see. I am fast. I am nimble. I swish, I swirl, I rise, I fall, I twirl.

I am more than what I see.

That hollow me is not who I am.

I am more than my grey scales, more than my large eyes, more than the speed or way I move.

These are elements of me, but they are not who I am.

I am more than that hollow me.

There is much more within me.

There has to be.

The beings that pass through the Beyond...

They are like me

Some are grey like me, small like me, spotty like me. Many have googly eyes, which they bring up against the edge of This.

Just like me!

I think they, too, search for who they are in This.

Perhaps they smell the magic at the edge.

We are similar, these beings and me.

Only they can enter This, whereas I cannot enter Beyond.

Why?

Perhaps there are answers not in what we share but in our differences.

Perhaps that is what makes me who I am.

Difference.

My fins, and my lack of sticks to move on, are these the defining differences that prevent me from transcending This and reaching Beyond?

Yes!

Of course.

How silly of me.

It is not that which unites us that divides us. It is what divides us that does that.

I should try to be less different.

Less me.

Yes!

I will cut off my fin!

Be gone, my fin.

I will become more like them.

There has to be more than This!

sad poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentary
15

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Mooreabout a year ago

    There was a stifling circularity to the early stages of this, it felt like restrained life to read.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is so deeply beautiful. There is a wonderful array of depths here but I was captivated when you said "This space where I rise and fall and glide and swirl" and then repeated it but in the reverse, opposite order. I thought that was pretty poetically profound and lovely.

  • Testabout a year ago

    This is such a great take on the challenge. Beautiful, and melancholy, and heartbreaking all at once. Well done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I'm sitting here reading this and have to keep glancing up at my fish swimming in his bowl right in front of me! Oh this had so many layers. Stunning!!

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    Absolutely stunning. The little details, like the proper nounization (yeh let’s go with that) of “This” and “Beyond,” make this piece multi-layered, such that the narrative voice of a little aquarium fish can speak so eloquently to the universal struggle of belonging.

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    Not gonna lie: I shed a little tear for that poor fish. Never thought of it that way. Makes you wonder what they do feel inside a tank. Really well done. 💕

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!!!

  • Madoka Moriabout a year ago

    Wonderful stuff. Didn't consider using peotry in this challenge but it fits so well.

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    How beautiful, yet dark. Love your work and the rhythm of how it reads. It’s almost musical in a way

  • Kaliyah Myersabout a year ago

    THIS! This is so powerful!! I hope you win, this is incredible!! Thank you for sharing! 🥰💜🥺

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nooooo! Don't do it. This is a great piece and now I feel guilty for the goldfish I had as a kid. Very, very well done.

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Beautiful, heartbreaking, and unique.❤️ Thank you so much for sharing this piece

  • No doubt another Top Story , great take on the challenge

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.