Poets logo

An Elegy

Poem A Day Challenge - February 3, 2024.

By Ashley LimaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
9
An Elegy
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

Here lies my youth;

Gone before I could realize it,

Stripped away

Before I had the chance to say "goodbye."

-

It's hard to pinpoint the moment...

The ending entirely unclear;

Blurred, faded, lost in time.

But the feeling I'm left with is obvious.

-

Punch in,

Punch out.

Punch in,

Punch out.

-

Watch the days

Turn into weeks

Turn into years,

Turn into dust.

-

Watch my hair turn grey,

And my skin gain wrinkles,

And the youth around me

Come into their own realizations of loss.

-

Live vicariously through others

Until it's not possible to relate.

Hopefully find it again

When the rat race is finally over.

***

Day 3... Prompt: An elegy of a concept.

I'm fortunate to have stable employment, but at the same time, my job is killing me inside. This poem is about that. I can't enjoy things like I used to because it eats up so much of my time. There's a sense that I've lost my youth and I'll be stuck in this position until I'm (hopefully) lucky enough to afford retirement. So, RIP to childhood wonder lol.

For FunElegy
9

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis3 months ago

    Ah, I feel you. I'm so sorry you're experiencing this but I hope you have moments of levity to ease the burden. I try not to notice the changes that come with aging, the shifts in perspective, the future looking pretty much the same, the dread of prioritizing things that don't fill me up...but eventually it all comes to mind in a big group, and it's not a great moment. May not mean much coming from someone you don't know well at all, but remember that you're in control. 💗💗💗

  • Ian Read3 months ago

    This is very relatable, a true elegy for something I think many of us have lost... or at least lost track of. Brilliant piece. :)

  • Wow, I know this is about your job, but it also represents a wider conversation about life as a whole. Incredibly well done.

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Take it from someone who's been there many times with jobs and life in general. Nothing is ever what you imagine it should be, it's what you turn it into. Only you can make life worth living. Okay, I'm done preaching.

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Goodness, I just feel this way in general. So relatable and well said. Sorry thought that your job makes you feel this way :(

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.