Poets logo

An Amateur's Guide to Healing

For Mackenzie’s Grocery List Challenge

By Poppy Published 7 months ago 1 min read
24
An Amateur's Guide to Healing
Photo by Sviatoslav Huzii on Unsplash

•Bandaids. How many will it take, to put me back together?

Antiseptic. Can I scrub away the memory of you?

Bath Salt. Will my sadness dissolve in the water in the same way?

•Nail Polish. If I change the shade of my personality from a dark blue to a bright red, maybe my feelings won’t bruise so easily.

•Perfume. Because the smell of cherry blossoms reminds me of days by your side but maybe vanilla will make me think of growth.

•Cinammon Scrolls. There are some parts of my old self I might never be able to get rid of. This is one. (I ate lollies with you but never this. It belongs to me.)

•Strawberries. They taste like freedom. Like healing.

•Happiness. I’m not sure where to find it yet. I think it must be in the process of letting you go. (I hope I’m almost there.)

❀❀❀❀❀

The Challenge:

inspirationallist
24

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • E.K. Daniels6 months ago

    Absolutely loved this, Poppy. Fabulous introspection, and an interesting take on the power of food and the senses in general. The last line re “happiness” offered hope at the end of the journey, or perhaps the beginning of a new one. Lovely.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    This is sublime, Poppy! I love the idea that strawberries taste of freedom and thought it was clever the way you described each of the things. The nail polish one particularly struck me and that last line is everything! Stunning work as usual, pal!

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Beautiful list of healing things and what the mean to you - Nice work!

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    Most of this sounds like stuff You'd buy at "Bed, Bath, and Beyond." Thanks to the self-care culture today I wonder if investors are going big on that market. That last part though, "Happiness," reminds me of the lyrics from a song where the line goes, "I'm not happier, but I'm way less sad." Plus, strawberries are ohhhhhh so good. Love picking them right off the vine, rinsing them, and eating them fresh as they are. Plus, they got high levels of anti-oxidants. Gotta remove those free radicals somehow.

  • Retail therapy. Let the shopping commence.

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    I was totally stumped, but I kinda get it now. The grocery list thing poem. Nice.

  • This was PHENOMENAL! I especially loved the nail polish and antiseptic. At the risk of sounding dumb, what are cinnamon scrolls? 😅

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Excellent take on the challenge. Wouldn’t it be nice to buy happiness whenever we need it.

  • Mesh Toraskar7 months ago

    Oh my, this is such an amazing poem! I love this so much. That nail polish line? HELLO?? Stunning. "Strawberries. They taste like freedom. Like healing." a big YES to that. You're really good at this Poppy! :)

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    Such clever writing!

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    She didn't buy alcohol, this is good!

  • Wow… quite the grocery list!!😳 Remind me not to go shopping with you too often… unless of course, you’re paying the bill!🙃

  • This is so good, Poppy. The raw depth of emotion is . . . just wow. Well done!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Awesome, Poppy

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    My jaw is on the floor. True, the context is more than the challenge asked for, but damn, Poppy, the emotional richness in these lines is just incredible. "Nail Polish. If I change the shade of my personality from a dark blue to a bright red, maybe my feelings won’t bruise so easily." -- Mic drop. The word play on "bruise" is stunning here. "•Cinammon Scrolls. There are some parts of my old self I might never be able to get rid of. This is one. (I ate lollies with you but never this. It belongs to me.)" -- The reclamation of cinnamon. This spice is dear to my heart, so naturally I was drawn to this line. It's a wonderful accompaniment to the item, almost unrelated, til you think about it more. Fantastic.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Great job on the prompt. Well done.

  • Suze Kay7 months ago

    Lovely, hopeful poem. I recommend local parks with lovely trees for a place to start hunting for happiness! 🥳

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    DAMN. This is good.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.