Poets logo

am i not a victim?

writing about what people do not want to talk about

By k slam poetry Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

it was four years ago

still trying to heal and grow

it was september

my mind is trying to forget but my body will always remember

and i am filled with anger

i need some answers

blaming the system

tell me. how am i not the victim?

even though i have aged

the memories remain

the perspective of how i see the world with my eyes

how can one day have changed my whole life?

the prints are stained on me forever

and i am just trying to get better

but no amount of therapy sessions will ever give me enough strength to scrub myself clean

to erase all of the traces, trauma and flashbacks of what happened to me as a teen

and i just feel so guilty i should have said something earlier

maybe if i had spoken

there would have been two girls less broken

still blaming the system

tell us

HOW ARE WE NOT THE VICTIM?

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

k slam poetry

I write about what people do not want to talk about

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.