Poets logo

Am I Invisible To You?

Truth's Unveiling

By Emily Mary RosePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
61

Am I invisible to you?

My mask is secure; you cannot see through,

I was assured that professionals could diagnose the truth,

But I am invisible, even to you.

‘Autism is a spectrum’, they say,

Almost dismissing my struggles that persist everyday,

Why can’t you fathom the pain that remains?

Maybe it’s because I'm invisible.

I lay my cards out on the table,

You claim I’m too young to be given a label,

‘You present yourself well- you’re emotionally stable’,

Still, I remain invisible.

If I were a man, would my voice be heard?

Would you still look at me like my thoughts are absurd?

I’m consciously aware that I cannot be cured

But I’m pleading for help and you won’t take my word.

For in this world,

I am invisible.

sad poetry
61

About the Creator

Emily Mary Rose

Emily Hustwick is a neurodivergent poet endeavouring to communicate the painful woes of mental and chronic illness. If you find yourself lost amongst the verses and the prose, know that you will one day be found.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Well, you are not invisible now. You are seen with shining colors. Congratulations on your triumphs.

  • SRenaS9 months ago

    Honestly, the words were so deep to. It was very nicely written. I was so inspired by you.

  • Ruby Red9 months ago

    This is extremely detailed and deep - I love it!

  • EYHCS9 months ago

    Very well written and emoted such strong feelings of pain and struggle. You are not invisible - I 🩵 this work.

  • Big Dreams9 months ago

    sometimes we have to wear the mask.

  • Mona Yonus9 months ago

    This was so beautiful! I love your style!

  • Christopher Stiner9 months ago

    This was vulnerable and compelling! Loved it & Thanks for sharing!

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    Heartfelt. I actually felt the pain while reading this. Thank you for sharing and congratulations on making it to Top Stories!

  • This was so emotional and very relatable! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Jenny Huynh9 months ago

    Nicely written

  • Cheryl Abbott9 months ago

    Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

  • Alivia Varvel9 months ago

    Such a powerful poem. Thank you for sharing this. I cannot describe just how much this resonates with me. So, so lovely. Congrats!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉💖💯😉

  • Steffany Pope9 months ago

    WOW! I MEAN WOW! Thank you for this! This why we wear our masks or vails. The hardest part of having mental illness/disorders; is having to explain something to someone who doesn't even want to understand! What people don't realize is, when someone act like theres not a problem with their loved ones, they're in denial. Denial of what may be uncovered about themselves, or how they would be looked at. Moreover, they cannot and will not understand that it was never "their struggle" in the first place. On the other hand, it's a fight within ourselves. When we do have someone that wants to understand, we believe that they are just saying that to spare our feelings. I have struggled most of my life from Borderline personality disorder, Depression and PTSD. It literally took 30 years for me to seek help. All because I come from a culture that pretty much dubs you an attention seeker if you have mental "issues." No one will ever understand until it's them behind the mask. Great Job! This really touched my heart! (I digress...)

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Really well done.

  • Thina Muhammad Ali9 months ago

    I can feel what you have felt while writing it down your words are heard clearly but unlucky are those who can hear but yet act like a deaf. Girl, you nailed it. Proud of you! (p.s. new subscriber here) ;)

  • Raihana H.9 months ago

    That's why people who struggle mentally can not tell others about it. Because they won't get it or believe. The poem was beautifully written! I loved it!

  • Kelsey Clarey9 months ago

    You captured this perfectly. I hate how many of us have to go through this. I've known too many people struggling to get the help they need for autism and ADHD and I've been dealing with trying to reach out for help with my OCD only to be told I'm "too high functioning" to be given a referral for a few years now. </3

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    I can actually feel the words in this poem. I have a grandson who is autistic. He is "verbal" but you can see the disease on his face. He's smart but too introverted. He'd rather play on his xbox than read or study. He also has ADHD and the combination can really frustrate those of us who see him regularly. Thank you for bringing autism into another light. While we may get frustrated, none of us knows or understands what goes through his mind.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    Oh this was sad, and so well written. I’m sorry this is the way society has made you feel

  • C.S LEWIS9 months ago

    i have created a very sweet story go to my publication and read about the secrets of the universe I am sure you will enjoy

  • Wow so powerful. Autism by our larger society is so misunderstood. I wish you the best in your mental health journey. This poem really struck a chord with me. And though it may only be a small measure, I see you, you are not invisible in this moment.

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    aw so good! Fire Emily fire!!!

  • Judah LoVato9 months ago

    Such a relatable topic, this sense of outsiderness and being unheard/unseen... I love the rhythm of the lines

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.