Poets logo

Already Extinct

SUBTLE

By Jamie CrotingerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

And I couldn't move

like a tree

locked under

epoxy

layers that built

don't know

wooden froth.

Don't know

if time matters when you're

moving back and forth on the nuclear clock.

I live in yesterday tomorrow.

Squeezing my mind back into my head.

I keep imagining

alien spacecraft

above the laws of gravity

but I can't really

see that happening.

You would have no aim

to not burn everything.

Maybe I'm already

extinct.

I wonder what good and evil means.

I want to trust.

I'm not a moral relativist.

But things change.

No one gets it all.

All of a sudden

Her eyes flow in within my own.

Green and Brown make Red.

We will destroy you!!

We Will Destroy YOU!

The sky's at our command!

I've no control!

Run! RUN!

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jamie Crotinger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.