Poets logo

Alone (?)

A poem

By Gabriel HuizengaPublished 4 months ago β€’ 1 min read
A shared kitchen space :)

I am so tired.

And I feel so very alone.

*

Alone in my faith, alone in my doubt;

Alone when with others, alone when without.

Alone in my giving, alone in my greed;

Alone in my peace, and alone in my need.

*

But not alone, I think, in feeling alone.

I am so tired,

and I feel so very alone -

but perhaps you do, too?

*

I daresay John Donne may have had it somewhat wrong-

Perhaps we are all islands, nations one person strong;

Islands, despite family, friend, party, or guild -

but blessed with one hope: The ability to build!

*

I am so tired,

and I feel so very alone,

and so does my neighbor.

so...

let's find each other.

*

So start building, dear island, when feeling alone

Or wait for a kind ship, by life's winds your way blown.

To seek another is a craft, to know them's an art -

So may lonely souls find each other, before we each depart.

*

It may be that we are all islands

but we can build bridges.

Lord, help all of us lonely souls to find each other.

Friendshipsad poetryMental HealthinspirationalFree VerseFirst Draftart

About the Creator

Gabriel Huizenga

Twas for love of words that I first joined this site:

Poetry, essays, and dear short stories too;

For to live one's best is to read, and to write!

So find me in words here, and I'll find you πŸ’™

Thanks for stopping by! :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    I used to wonder how I could feel so alone in a world of billions of people, or a room full or a company or a home filled to overflowing. Human nature is a trove of feelings. Lonely is the devil among them.

  • Hannah Fraser4 months ago

    So artfully done. This will stick with me for a long time.

  • D.K. Shepard4 months ago

    So good! Love the imagery of islands and bridges! The line β€œTo seek another is a craft, to know them's an art -β€œ really struck me!

  • John Cox4 months ago

    This is a deep, feeling work. I love the way you challenge the idea that 'No man is an island' in the beginning of the poem and then begin building bridges. I love the richness of your ideas and the simple language in which they are expressed. Well done!

  • This is a bit of a strange one! It felt important to include both the more structured sections and the more raw, italicized bits. Hope you enjoy!

Gabriel HuizengaWritten by Gabriel Huizenga

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.