Poets logo

Alone on a Friday, Saturday, Sunday night

I’m literally writing this while all alone on a Friday night…again

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Alone on a Friday, Saturday, Sunday night
Photo by Kasia on Unsplash

They’re all watching me

I do more to stand in

But they know

Once alone

Twice alone

All alone

All the time

The weekend comes and goes like a childhood blur

And I have nothing to account for it

But three days

All alone

Sometimes needed

But still never quite wanted

No one checks

Yet everyone is aware

How can one be the center of attention

Yet the only one left out of the party

I’ve known this feeling

Once

Twice

All my life

I wonder if they know that

Or if they think it’s my first time

Maybe I’m being stood up by a girl

Maybe I’m waiting on a friend

No.

There was no girl

Never a friend

Always just one

No two

No all

Neither

Friday

Nor

Saturday

Nor

Sunday

Night

Do we know

Together

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.