Poets logo

Alone & Blue

Hopeless in the present but hopeful of the future

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
12
Alone & Blue
Photo by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

I feel so alone, so lost in the crowd

With people all around me, but feeling so loud

Their voices blend together, like a symphony

But I’m not sure where I fit in, or where I should be

I have people who love me, who care and support

And I’m forever grateful for all they’ve brought

But my sense of self is slowly slipping away

Like a fading memory that can’t be saved

I used to be someone, with dreams and desires

But now I feel like my flame has been put out by the fire

Of expectations and pressures, of what I should be

Instead of who I am, and what I want to see

But even in this darkness, I see a glimmer of light

A hope for the future, a chance to take flight

To rediscover myself, to find my way back

To the person I once was, before the world attacked

So I hold on to this hope, this spark in the night

And I know that one day, I’ll shine bright

With my individuality, my dreams, and my soul

And I’ll be whole once again, and feel in control.

sad poetry
12

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Aaron Waddell - The Everyday Mystic4 months ago

    Excellent work. I hope you are indeed remembering your wholeness and holiness!

  • Wow so emotional, lucid and heart pledging

  • Oh wow I identified with this so much. The feelings of self-doubt, of being alone in crowds, of holding onto the strength of hope. The lines of this poem really grabbed a hold and didn't let go. Very well done.

  • This made me so emotional! Loved your poem!

  • Felix Afele8 months ago

    Awesome

  • Sending hugs for this very heartfelt

  • Emily Mary Rose8 months ago

    I really related to your words. Thank you for sharing xx

  • harry henry8 months ago

    Beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.