Poets logo

The Rise of Expectations

Necessary evil?

By Manisha DhalaniPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
The Rise of Expectations
Photo by Dima Pechurin on Unsplash

You say expectations are necessary?

Lord, I wonder what you have learned

Reading all those books

Listening to preachers

Acting like a monk yourself

Those words of yours

Reinstate how worldly you are

Oddly, you should have realised that

Always claiming that you are all-knowing

Educating yourself in the mysteries

But to think that

Would be my expectation of you

So I roll my eyes

And set away into my own world

Expecting nothing of you

For what can you give me anyway?

For I have everything I need

And it’s His/Her will

To decide

If I get more

Or not.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Manisha Dhalani

Content writer and marketer helping solopreneurs achieve organic growth. Loves reading, eating cake, and having insightful conversations.

www.manishadhalani.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    I knowwww right! That is so true! Fantastic poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.