Poets logo

Agony

A not so "poem" poem

By J. MDPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Agony
Photo by Luigi Pozzoli on Unsplash

I am filled with sadness everyday. Why you ask? Well, it's because I can see solutions to the problems that plague us everyday but I am a nobody. How can anyone listen to me if I am just a nobody? Don't tell me otherwise, I can't think of any other way to say it.

It is what it is.

Sometimes I feel like somebody's watching me, but I realize it's me, the person in the mirror. I stare and stare until I can't recognize my own face. Who am I? Why am I here? What did I do to be given this gift of life? How do I honor it when I feel so much pain and sorrow? I can see solutions to hunger, homelessness, healthcare, I can see a promise of tomorrow but I'm told you're too busy for me today.

It is what it is.

I wake up all hours of the evening wondering if I am alone in space time. Alone, my heart aches from the invisibility loneliness cascades over me. Can anyone hear my thoughts? Feel what my heart feels? If they did they probably wouldn't survive the agony and sinking feeling I have everyday when I see the world becoming more of a an old movie. Books burning, feelings hurting, wait one second now we care? What are we doing to ourselves?

I cry.

I want to scream, and yell and be heard. No one sees me though, they treat my despair as a game because they can't feel what my heart feels. The desire to be heard, the desire to be seen sometimes consumes me because of the pain I feel. I want the pain to stop. I want the world to stop, are we being punished? If so, be swift already because my heart is in so much pain.

So hollow.

sad poetry

About the Creator

J. MD

After my time in the Navy I decided to go back into writing. I always loved writing, I still have so much to learn and re-learn. I want to leave something behind for my children and their children. I always welcome positive criticism.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    J. MDWritten by J. MD

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.