Poets logo

Afterschool Snack

A poem for the Snacktime Sonata challenge.

By Kyle PreedyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Afterschool Snack
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

I remember sitting at my desk as the teachers droned on

Excited to go home, thinking it can not be to long.

The bell finally rung and out the classroom I ran

On my way home to eat and have fun was the plan

I remember walking in the door and fresh bread Is what I would smell

I knew what mum had made, oh I knew that smell very well.

Making my way to the counter where the sprinkles stood still

I saw butter melting on warm bread and could barely contain how I feel.

Mum would come to greet me and shake the sprinkles on top.

Hand me a slice of fairy bread and I would be sure not to drop.

Then I take that first bite of this snack that I love

Soft warm bread in my mouth with sweetness above.

The melted butter soaked in with sprinkles stuck on top like glue

If I could have a slice right now, how I would love to share one with you.

But those days are long gone and life must move on

Fairy bread my childhood snack for which my tastebuds were born.

For FunFamilychildrens poetry
3

About the Creator

Kyle Preedy

Trying something new, come along for the journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    I've never heard of fairy bread before! It seems soooo delicious! Loved your poem!

  • ema3 months ago

    You make me discover fairy bread for the first time, now I want to try it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.