Poets logo

Afternoon Anamnesis

Your School Bag

By Poppy Published 8 months ago 1 min read
13
Image Created on Midjourney

The afternoon was

Bathing everything

In golden light and

We were sitting with

Our backs against the fence

Too close to be just friends

But too far away to satisfy

The wild beating of my heart

You were looking at me as if

You hadn’t chosen her and

I was trying to smile like it

Didn’t kill me to think about

Time evaporated like

The warmth in a coffee

Left out in the cold

Meaning wasn’t found

In your words but

The softness of your voice

My name on your lips

Sounded almost like

An apology and yours

Tasted like the saltwater

That drowned out

All our chances

Hands touching

Shoulders brushing

None of it enough

When the day was done

Our footsteps lead in

Opposite directions but

I think I lost something

When you walked away

I think I left my heart

In the front pocket of

Your school bag

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this you may also like:

Edit: Story was republished to change cover image.

heartbreaklove poemssad poetryfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    That final verse! Gosh, my heartstrings have been thoroughly stretched! Brilliant work Poppy!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Damn. This is too good. “My name on your lips Sounded almost like An apology and yours Tasted like the saltwater That drowned out All our chances“ WOW. I am stunned by this. The saltwater that drowned all our chances. Mic drop. For real. You are so good at creating atmosphere, Poppy. And again, your ending; it ties everything up in a perfect bow, a release from the building tension between the speaker and the subject. And yet there is still so much left to say. Whatever did he do with it when he found it? I feel I need a part 2 😏💕💗 But I like imagination too.

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    Very good read, Poppy :)

  • This actually literally happened to me! Time evaporated like the warmth of a coffee left out in the cold. That line was so beautiful! Also, my heart is still in the front pocket of his bag.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Spectacular awesome poem!!! Loving it!!!💕♥️♥️

  • From the way you tell this, Poppy, both of you did. I wonder where they left theirs.

  • Lilly Cooper8 months ago

    A really sweet piece I think most people can relate to ❤️

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Wonderful, as always, Poppy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.