Poets logo

Afterlife

You solved the mystery.

By Megan RichesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Afterlife
Photo by Jackson Hendry on Unsplash

I no longer know if I want the waves to weigh down my dress.

Each step I take is further from the comforts of land.

But, still, I feel the sand.

It grounds me.

When the waves hit, my toes lift,

My body sways.

Looking back I see rosy faces,

Tainted from the drink in their cup.

I feel laughter.

It warms me, while simultaneously,

Drives me away.

Laughter can be disguised judgments.

It can hold the pity I don't need.

So I push on.

Cold water reaches my chin.

My feet lift gracefully from the gorund.

Wrapped in Nature's grasp, I feel at home.

My heads almost underwater and it feels like when you used to wash my hair.

There were days you would have to compensate for me,

And I for you.

Sometimes in the bustle I can't feel you watching over me.

There's too much noise to hear the faint whispers of you speaking my name.

But here,

I'm surrounded by your embrace.

I see you in the beauty of the sky.

The stars shine like your eyes used to.

And now I know where you go when you die.

You paint skies with careful strokes.

To present them to your loved ones on the days they miss you.

You dance along the skyline,

In the form of a shooting star,

To show them magic is real.

You give them days of peace.

A coffee on the porch with the last cigarette.

You see, on Earth,

You live for yourself.

When you're and angel,

You live for those who still speak your name.

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.